D'Evelyn Accountability Committee Meeting September 15, 2020 MINUTES

** meeting held virtually through Google platform

Welcome and Introductions

Opened meeting at 5:34 pm

Introduction of Accountability Officers

Carrie Kollar – Chair Bill Kottenstette – Vice-Chair Josh Griffin – 2nd Vice Chair Kym Benfield – Recorder

Rules of Operation Review

- Accountability Committee membership open to all interested parties
- Everyone in attendance at September 15th meeting becomes a voting member on September 30th
- Attendance required at meetings

Approval of May 2020 Minutes

Approved

Student Council Update

- Created a video and decorated the entrance to welcome students back to school in hybrid times
- Hosting a spirit week integrated with college week
- Homecoming event planning is in progress

2020-2021 Teachers Introduction

- New teachers were introduced to Accountability Committee
 - Trevor Zonnefield
 - Katherine Civian
 - o Bethany Ericson
 - o Rachel Coughenour
 - o Emily McCaslin
 - o Lauren Shealy
 - Steve Franklin

Principal's Report – Josh Griffin

Hybrid/Remote Learning

- Thank you, students, teachers, staff, parents, & families
- Three Priorities:
 - o Health & safety of all community members
 - Work Together

- Support student learning
- Health & Safety
 - o Following district/county/state guidelines
 - Masks
 - Social distancing
 - Classroom environment
 - One-way traffic & staggered drop-off & pick-up
 - Lunch Plans
 - o We have had one positive case in our community so far
 - o Communication process for positive cases and quarantine for those impacted
 - o Excellent compliance so far
- Academics:
 - o In-person hybrid students
 - Remote hybrid students
 - o 100% remote students
- Adjustment to block schedule
- Student Support:
 - o 7th hour rotations
 - Counseling Support
 - Counseling programming
 - o Remote access to teacher of choice in 7th hour
- Logistics:
 - Student drop-off
 - o Lunch
 - o Pick-up

6th Grade Program

- Great start in our inaugural year
- Students have been enthusiastic and engaged in learning and getting to know the school
- Teacher are dedicated and committed to the best interests and success of our students as people, students, and citizens
- Subcommittee to gather input & feedback being formed within A/C
- Temporary classroom facilities turned out very well
- Outdoor Lab week of November 9th

Construction / Building Addition

- Bond work will begin in this school year and following summer. Projects include:
 - Safety & security enhancements
 - o Technology & furniture to support student learning
 - o Electrical, plumbing, lighting, and HVAC upgrades
 - Replace old flooring
 - o Landscaping & outdoor athletic complex improvements
- 6th Grade Building Addition
 - o Design Advisory Group is formed and will meet four times this semester
 - Purpose of DAG is to provide input to architects regarding wants/needs in the new addition

o Representatives from S/C, A/C, DEF, faculty, district leadership, and student population

Upcoming Events

- Parent Teacher Conferences format to be determined
- Recognition of Honor Roll & Academic Letters
- PSAT/SAT Day October 14th

Steering Committee Update – Melinda Bochner

- D'Evelyn Program Founding Document Overview
 - o Liberal Arts Education
 - Essential Body of Cultural Knowledge
 - Textbook Based
 - Whole Group Teacher Led Instruction
 - Hiring
 - Assessments
- Steering Sub-Committees Overview
 - o Curriculum Development
 - o Curriculum Review
 - Textbook Selection

Sub-Committee Updates – Officers

- Sub-committees were identified, introduced and assigned for 2020-2021 Year
 - Survey & Data (Kym Benfield)
 - o Remote Learning (Bill Kottenstette)
 - Potential integration with Technology sub-committee
 - o 6th Grade Success (Carrie Kollar)
 - o Technology (Bill Kottenstette)

Public Commentary

None

Meeting adjourned at 6:38 pm

Attendees: Josh Griffin, Carrie Kollar, Bill Kotenstette, Kym Benfield, Dana Miller, Bethany Ericson, Rachel Coughenour, Trevor Zonnefeld, Emily McCaslin, Laura Sweetman, Donna Li, Melinda Bochner, Wendi Graper, Maria Connor, Leanne Petracek, Lisa Cushnie, Cindy Otegui, Amanda Gersabeck, Katherine Battagline, Timothy Schmeckpeper, Max Sier

NEXT MEETING: October 13, 2020 @ 5:30-6:30 PM – VIRTUAL